Board of Directors

Board of Directors

London Community Credit Union is governed by a board of directors made up of members, elected by the membership at the annual general meeting.

Nominations for the board of directors to be elected at the next AGM on 18th February 2021 are now closed.

Our directors are unpaid and each is elected for a three-year term. At any time, there are between 10-15 directors. Any member can stand for election and we are always on the lookout for volunteers.

The board meets monthly, and most directors serve on other committees such as Finance, Audit or Loans.

From its number, the board elects a chairperson, vice-chair, treasurer and secretary. These members are the executive officers and they serve for a period of a year. At present they are:

LCCU Executive Committee
  • Chair – David Morgan
  • Vice Chair – Jade Onashoga
  • Secretary – Gren Bingham
  • Anti-Money Laundering Officer – Jude Rozario

The Executive Committee meets monthly to support the board in its work.

All Directors
Baraka Rumamba

Baraka is currently training to become a chartered accountant. He believes credit unions can be a fitting tool to address some of society’s thorniest challenges. Baraka presently leads the investment committee of the Sarah Bonnell Foundation where he is chair of the board.

David Morgan

David is employed in the corporate treasury of a large multinational company where he works to improve the quality of financial controls and financial reporting. A member of the board since 2013, he served as the treasurer since 2014 before becoming the chairperson in May 2019.

Garry Gerrish

Garry has lived and worked in East London for over 30 years. He is a qualified public sector accountant and although now largely retired he continues to audit several small voluntary bodies. Garry also has professional experience in ongoing property renovation and management.                                                                                          

Grenville Bingham

Grenville has experience in the areas of management, business development, marketing, and computing. Whilst on the staff of MIT he worked on the early development of the internet. He has helped to build several businesses. Grenville has been a board member for 16 years and has previously been the vice-chair. He is the current board secretary.

Ian Moseley

Ian has been a senior trading standards officer. He was the president of the credit union from inception until he stepped down in 2014. He has a working knowledge of quality assurance methods and consumer credit legislation, which are useful tools in the running of the credit union.

Jade Onashoga

Jade joined the board in 2019. She brings with her 14 years experience in stakeholder management, communications and digital marketing. She also has a Masters Degree in Business Administration, Strategy and Operations. She became the vice-chair in May 2019.                        

James Etherington

James has lived in Tower Hamlets for 18 years, working in finance and investor relations. He is interested in supporting local organisations, and served as a governor of an Isle of Dogs school trust. James was co-opted on to the board of directors in late 2019 and has joined the finance committee.

Jude Rozario

Jude has worked in banking for over 20 years and currently specialises in mitigating the risk of financial crime and money laundering. He has extensive experience of credit unions and has volunteered with organisations around the world.

Koreen Hanson

Koreen has had an extensive career in human resources, industrial relations, research and development, and regulatory compliance. She offers knowledge and experience in employee risk and governance to support LCCU as it changes and grows. Koreen joined the board in 2019.

Matthew Gaskin

Matthew is a civil servant with previous experience working in community development for a large housing association and policy research at the Centre for Responsible Credit and Toynbee Hall. He has served on the board of directors since 2015 and was previously the board secretary.

Peter Costello

Peter is a qualified chartered surveyor who is employed as an associate director at Strettons in east London. He has considerable experience in dealing with commercial and residential property throughout London and serves on the board and its property sub-committee.                      

Sam Goodacre

Sam joined the board in 2019 bringing skills and knowledge that include financial statement analysis, financial forecasting and modelling, an experience of capital and asset/liability management and knowledge of the regulatory and economic backdrop that impacts banks.

Sarah Johns

Sarah works for a European asset manager as their UK Chief Operating Officer. Previously she has held roles in product development, strategy and business management. She was co-opted on to the board of directors in 2018 and elected for the first time at the 2019 AGM.

Stephen Backes

Stephen’s professional background is in construction and property management. He is very active in the local community, volunteering with a local Amnesty International group and an organic farm in the Lea Valley. He has served on the board for four years and is the chair of the property committee.